Uncategorized

Giving the Forever 21 Lipstick some Lip Service: Review and Swatches

I am a lover of many things, but my love for a good lipstick surpasses the word ‘love’ and can be better described as ‘obsessed’. My willpower in the makeup isle is comparable to a drug addict (but THIS nude is so much different from my other nude lipstick! I need it! Just one more I swear).

As you all know, I love the brand Forever 21 with a passion. I was on the hunt for a thick gold ring (shown below) when I decided to pick up two of their lipsticks to try. I usually stay away from clothing-brand makeup products and stick to actual makeup brands, but call it fate. I figured they were packaged pretty enough that even if I didn’t like the lipsticks they would look good as display items on my vanity. As shallow as that sounds, the quality of the lipsticks far surpassed my expectations along with the pretty packages they came in.

I picked up the Velvet Lipstick in Natural and the Crème Lipstick in Nude. Both retail for $4.80 CAN.

6

The Velvet Lipstick is a semi-matte formula with a brownish-rose tone to it. Nudes with brown-undertones tend to look better on my skin tone then a pink undertone as they don’t wash my out as much. However, I think this colour could pretty much suit any skin tone. The formula is not completely matte, but is a tad more drying than the crème lipstick. It doesn’t go on as smoothly as the crème either, but still has great pigmentation and colour pay off. I would compare these lipsticks to NYX Lipsticks: affordable, cute packaging, flattering and good quality.

image1

image2

The Crème Lipsticks are a tad more sheer, but go on extremely buttery and smooth. I was delighted to find that this lipstick did not have any glitter in it, something that I find unflattering on myself. The colour is a little pale, but looks great with a pink gloss over top (I like the way NYX Buttergloss in Crème Brule looks on top). This lipstick is very hydrating an won’t draw attention to any dry flakes that may be on your lips.

image3 image4

I wore both lipsticks to work and school, and was pleased by their lasting power. The colours are neutral and can go with any eyeshadow/blush combination you choose. They are also great to wear with just BB Cream and mascara, as they make you look more put-together without looking like your wearing a mask of makeup.

Based on the formulation, price and packaging alone, I give these lipsticks 4.5/5. I have not seen much of a colour selection, but I will definitely recommend the nude colours for the low-maintence makeup lovers like myself.

Also, if you were wondering, I found this gold ring for $4.80 CAN as well and I LOVE it. Nailpolish featured is the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel polish in Pink Cadillaquer.
image5

If you liked this review and want to see more: Like, comment and tweet me @thehiddenjewels

Leave a comment